Mint Chocolate Chip Frozen Yoghurt

Mint chocolate chip is my faaaaavourite ice cream flavour. Though I rarely have it, unless it’s artigianale. Because I’m a s-n-o-b. Heh.

I’ve only ever made one kind of froyo and I thought it was time I expanded my…repertoire. Surely I could make my favourite ice cream at home, without all the colouring and preservatives?

This recipe by Katy’s Kitchen tells me I can. So I did!

mcc1

I made a few slight changes:

1. I used coconut cream instead of coconut milk. I accidentally bought coconut cream and didn’t realise it until I started. I figured, what could go wrong? (Well, it would give it a higher fat content. But who cares.) It would probably just make it creamier. It ain’t no big thing. Indeed, it is creamier and therefore, delicious.

2. I skipped the peppermint extract, because I couldn’t find any at the supermarket. Truth be told you don’t really need it. One and a half cups of real, fresh mint make this froyo minty enough.

3. I added some roughly chopped 70% dark chocolate into the mix. And I melted more than 3 oz (approximately half a cup) of chocolate chips for the drizzle. I think I used one cup. I don’t know, I didn’t pay attention. Ha! You can never have too much chocolate.

4. If you read the recipe, you’ll see that she stirs the mixture every thirty minutes for two hours to make sure it gets all nice and mixed. Ain’t nobody got time fo dat. What’s my high-powered blender for if it couldn’t do that for me? After some time in the blender, I poured the mixture into my loaf pan and chucked it in the freezer for one and a half hours before drizzling the melted chocolate on the top and letting it freeze overnight.

mcc2

I sure got time for this! It’s really creamy thanks to the coconut cream, it’s plenty minty without the aid of peppermint extract, AND all the extra chocolate makes it very, very luxurious. It’s pretty tangy though, so if you’d prefer something sweeter, up the amount of honey till it makes you happy.

Leave a Reply

