Jogjakarta, Indonesia

In late January, I went on a weekend trip to Jogjakarta, Indonesia, with a bunch of people from Couchsurfing. I knew one person properly, one person I’d met briefly before, and the others were total and complete strangers. Umm, what? Why did I, who have always preferred to travel solo, suddenly decide to travel with other people?

Simple. Sheer desire to visit Borobudur and no time like then. Didn’t even have to apply for leave. Left on Friday evening, back on Sunday night. Easy peasy. And to my surprise my travel mates were actually cool. All of them. Even this one girl who I pre-judged for looking like a snob. She did turn out to be a bit snobbish but not so severely that we haven’t hung out a number of times since then. Look at me, making friends!

1Prambanan, a 9th-century Hindu temple compound.

1.2Little boys and their toy cars.

2Gudeg – traditional Jogja food made from unripe jackfruit boiled with palm sugar and coconut milk. Eating sweet gravy with rice was weird for me, but when in Rome.

KidYeah, I stalked this kid.

4Borobudur at sunrise. Totally worth waking up at 3am for!

5Foreground: my group. Background: Indonesians taking a photo with a white guy. Because he’s white. Later they would also accost the white guy in my group for a photo. It was hilarious.

6Handmade wayang kulit (shadow puppets).

7Street food. I was told off by these women for snapping their pics but not buying their food. Haha.

Leave a Reply

