Overnight Oats with Coconut, Dates and Almonds

Overnight Oats with Coconut, Dates and Almonds

Last night I had a really good idea. I thought it was quite original and that I was a genius. I googled it to make sure…and no, my idea wasn’t as original as I thought. So, not a genius. But it’s cool. Great minds think alike. I just wasn’t the first one!

I was wondering what to have for breakfast today, as I like to do. You see, I love breakfast. I put a lot of thought into my breakfast. I can’t drink a cup of coffee and call it breakfast. I would cry. No, I would. You don’t know me. I have to chew something and it has to fill me up. Breakfast is important to me. So I think about it all the time. I think about lunch all the time too. Ooh, and dinner. I guess I like to think of my next meal a lot.

But I digress.

I thought about making overnight oats but I didn’t have any bananas, which is how I usually sweeten my overnight oats. And then it struck me. I have a tonne of dates leftover from Ramadan. Surely that would work? Yes…surely. I looked around my pantry and fridge for other yums to add to the concoction.

Sunflower seed butter? YES.

Shredded coconut? Pourquoi pas?

And almonds, which were even pre-soaked. Yeah, I sometimes have pre-soaked almonds lying around. No bigs.

I mixed ’em all up in a clean jar of what used to be Tostitos salsa and had a taste. And I was BLOWN AWAY. God, it was good. Man, it was sooo damn good. Even though I was hyping up the dates, for me, it was the shredded coconut that…made my tongue dance. (…yeah, I’m just gonna go with it.) There was a party in my mouth this morning and it was all thanks to the unexpected guest, the almighty coconut.

Okay, now I’m just delirious. Just trust me and make this. You can thank me later.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup rolled oats

1/2 cup soy milk

2 tbsp sunflower seed butter

1 tbsp unsweetened shredded coconut

5 pre-soaked raw almonds (I didn’t even bother slicing them up because ain’t nobody got time for that!)

3 dates, chopped

Directions:

Combine all the ingredients in a jar or bowl. Let chill in the fridge overnight. In the morning, take it out and get that party started!

4 thoughts on “Overnight Oats with Coconut, Dates and Almonds

  1. I always intend to make overnight oats, but I never do. I’m lousy at planning ahead and I’m always rushed when I do breakfast. Sometimes eating a bowl of cereal is a feat.

    I need to stop being a non-planner and make some overnight oats, though. I do.

    1. I’m rushed at breakfast too. I leave just enough time in the morning for me to get up, take a shower, get ready, and leave. I actually eat my breakfast while getting ready. In my room. So there’s no time for me to worry about what to have for breakfast. I’ve got to have it ready for me to grab and devour in between letting my moisturiser dry and slapping on makeup.

      But I feel ya. The smallest things can feel like such an enormous effort sometimes. I don’t always feel preparing myself breakfast the night before, even though it can be as simple as taking stuff out of the fridge/pantry and mixing it all up in a jar. Which is why I do two or three jars at a time. I figure, better to expend my energy in one go so I wouldn’t have to for the next two nights. Here’s a little secret: I even prepare my coffee beforehand. I scoop (instant) coffee powder and sugar into my mug and chuck it in the fridge. The next morning I take it out and pour hot water and milk and stir. Done. Ain’t nobody got time for faffing about with coffee and sugar in my half-awake state at 7am! Haha. I plan ahead cuz I’m laaazy.

      Anyway. Do it! Set aside 10 minutes every two to three nights to prep yourself some overnight oats. You’ll be very glad you did.

Leave a Reply

