Hazelnut Brownie Tart

Hazelnut Brownie TartThis Bake or Break recipe gives boring ol’ brownies a bit of a twist… – no, no, not that kinda twist – but by putting a crust on it!

Hazelnut Brownie Tart

Looks good, doesn’t it? I had never had vanilla wafer cookies before (P.S. extremely expensive imported product) and had no idea what to expect. I bit into a piece, all excited…and was dismayed to find that the artificial vanilla taste was overwhelming and distracted my taste buds from the actual brownie. When you eat a brownie you expect to be assaulted by chocolatey goodness, not vanilla + sugar. But the whole way through, all I could taste was vanilla. *sad panda* True, I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup only and I used 75% dark chocolate and skipped the chocolate chips and yes, I used vanilla cookies in the crust…omg TFC are you stupid?! Of course you would taste vanilla! I know. But I doubt following the recipe to a T would have made the vanilla taste less any IN MAH FACE.

Lessons learned: Vanilla wafer cookies are rubbish. Digestive cookies would highly likely make a better crust. Or better yet, don’t faff around with brownies by giving them a crust! Just kidding. Crusts are good. Just not crusts made with bloody vanilla wafer cookies.

2 thoughts on “Hazelnut Brownie Tart

    1. Dylan, did you think I meant these wafers? If so, I actually meant these. The first type is commonplace here and I’ve used it as a biscuit base a few times – not ultra tasty but not abhorrent either. The second type is less common, only sold at bigger supermarkets that sell a wide variety of Western food products, and is extremely expensive at S$8.40 a box. WHAT!

      Although…the brownies actually taste better fridge-cold on day 2 so I’m not really complaining now. Haha.

Leave a Reply

