Banana Pancakes with Caramelised Bananas

Please can we talk about these banana pancakes without mentioning that Jack Johnson song? I abhor that song. Thanks.

banana pancakes

I’ve come a long way from hating bananas in any way, shape or form (except battered and deep fried into pisang goreng…YUM!) to freezing them for milkshakes, making banana bread (didn’t post about it) and just last week, banoffee pie. This weekend saw me shoving more banana-y things into my mouth in the form of these pancakes. Clearly, I don’t hate bananas anymore.

I combined two different recipes for this – the pancake recipe is from Once Upon A Chef, while the caramelised bananas recipe is from Averie Cooks. While the pancake recipe looked solid, I was surprised to learn that it calls for only one small banana. I didn’t want to go so far as to call them banana pancakes only for a slight hint of banana flavour. I wanted to pack more banana intensity into them. So I decided to use two medium/normal sized bananas. To compensate for the extra banana volume and moisture, I reduced the milk to 3/4 cup. Oh, and I used vanilla-flavoured soy milk, so I skipped the vanilla essence. They turned out so light and fluffy and the banana flavour was unmistakable. Delicious!

Paired with the caramelised bananas though, I thought it was a bit much. I was nauseous after my third bite! I think the pancakes are better off alone or with maple syrup, while the caramelised bananas would probably complement plain pancakes better. You live, you learn!

Leave a Reply

