Salad in a Jar

Psst! In case you haven’t heard – there is a way to take a homemade salad to work without getting your greens all soggy or using separate containers for the dressing.

jarOr you know…a tall container

I came across this tip earlier this year and I regularly take homemade salads to work this way. I couldn’t be bothered to spend money on a jar so I used what I had – a tall-ish container with a very tight and secure lock. It works! As long as your container is tall, it will work.

Dressing goes in first. This is key. You want to make sure the dressing is completely isolated from your leaves. I usually make balsamic vinaigrette because it’s so easy and I always have the ingredients on hand.

Next, whatever could stand being soaked. I’m a capsicum/bell pepper fiend myself. They do get slightly soggy from hanging out in the dressing but because I make my salads nightly, not weekly like a lot of salad-in-a-jar proponents do, the level of sogginess is extremely minimal.

I follow with some protein, typically diced roast chicken.

If I remember I put sesame seeds, just for crunch and funs.

Lastly are them greens. Whatever floats your boat. For me, any leafy/non-leafy green/red/purple will float my boat. I’m no veggist. 😉

When lunchtime rolls round, dump the contents of your container in a big ol’ bowl, toss it all around, eat…and FEEL GOOD!

bowl

Leave a Reply

