Coconut Bread & Broccoli and Pepper Pizza & Peanut Butter and Chocolate Chip Bread Pudding

Whoa! Guess who’s back in the kitchen? And with a vengeance too!

cb.jpg

Being a coconut lover, seeing this on Smitten Kitchen = making it. No-brainer, really. Even though Deb said 1 cup of sugar may seem like a lot but it isn’t, and that one shouldn’t give in to one’s urges to tweak the recipe in any way by, say, substituting coconut milk, I used a scant 3/4 cups of sugar and coconut milk anyway. Oh, and I browned the butter. That’s me. The sweetness came out perfectly but it still wasn’t coconutty enough for me. Ah well. Otherwise the bread is wonderful. A bit coarse, a bit dense, and not quite as beautifully golden-brown as Deb’s but delicious nonetheless.

bpp.jpg

I’ve been on a broccoli kick lately. It’s my favourite vegetable but sometimes I just forget to eat it, you know? But when I do remember, I want it on EVERYTHING. The newest thing to put broccoli on? Pizza! This is my first pizza since I got back from Italia and it was adapted from Deceptively Healthy. It’s oddly shaped but that’s homemade for ya! Cream cheese instead of ricotta and shredded mozzarella instead of cheddar. And a variety of dried herbs (oregano, basil, thyme, etc.) plus lots and lots of chilli flakes. Yum! Who needs meat when vegetables are this good?

pbbp.jpg

I’ve made this one before. I mentioned in that post that I was letting my director AM try it. I didn’t report back on his comments. He LOVED it. Couldn’t stop talking about it. He dropped hints for months for me to make it again but I pretended not to get it and never made it for him. Because I’m mean like that. Finally last month he asked me point-blank if I could make it for him again, please? I said okay, when I get back from Italy. So here it is. I’m such a good employee, huh?

Leave a Reply

