Homemade Bread

You’re out of bread. Do you

a) Put some pants on and go to the store

or

b) Remain pantless and bake your own bread

Seeing as the title of this post is Homemade Bread, there are no prizes for guessing which option I went for. What? Walking around pantless when you’re home alone is the best feeling ever. I didn’t want that feeling to stop for even five minutes. You understand, right? So I baked bread from scratch, no big deal. Illogical, you say? Nah. Totally logical, if you knew me at all. After all, making my own bread has been on my baking to-do list for a while. Why not do it today?

Bread Makin'

The recipe from Two Blue Lemons doesn’t specify precisely how long to let the dough rise – it simply says “overnight”. I wanted bread at some point today, not tomorrow morning. So I left my tall container covered with plastic wrap for six hours. Tall is the keyword here. This is absolutely essential unless you want a dough explosion, which is inevitable if you leave your dough to rise for six hours in a shallow container.

The recipe also doesn’t specify the dimensions of the baking pan. Looking at my dough, which had more than quadrupled in size, I was afraid it wouldn’t fit in my 6×2 inches pan. So I only baked one half of the dough. Turns out, I didn’t have to. When baked, the bread didn’t really fill the pan. Its final size is only slightly bigger than in the pic up there. Oh well. I wanted one loaf of bread and I got two. Not complaining!

One more thing the recipe doesn’t specify is the baking time. Come oooon! I saw another recipe that calls for 30 minutes, so that’s what I did, worrying the whole time. I set the alarm on my phone to go off every 10 minutes to check on its progress…because I’m loony like that. But after 30 minutes my bread wasn’t quite as golden-brown as I wanted. So I baked for another 10 minutes until I got my desired hue.

So was it worth it? I’ll let you be the judge.

Homemade Bread

Actually, I’ll tell ya. Yes, yes, yes, it was completely worth it. The bread is sooo soft and light and airy, the crust is so…crusty, the colour is gorgeous, I know exactly what’s in it, and most importantly, I got to continue to be pantless like I wanted. How could it not be worth it?!

Points to note if trying this recipe:

– Let the dough rise in a tall container.

– A 6×2 inches cake pan can take the entire dough.

– Bake for 30-40 minutes, depending on preference.

3 thoughts on “Homemade Bread

Leave a Reply

