Seared Scallops with Creamed Leeks

On what was supposed to be my last night in Paris, my host PC and I went out to dinner at an Italian restaurant that looked “all right” (him); “not smoky” (me). In other words, it was randomly chosen. He had never been there before despite it being a block away from his apartment as he doesn’t eat out very much…and for good reason! Eating out is an expensive affair in Paris. I looked through the menu, focused on the seafood section (the meat wasn’t halal), and within seconds, decided that the seared scallops with creamed leeks and tagliatelle was most appealing to my taste buds. I don’t even like cream-based sauces cuz they usually make me nauseous, but my taste buds knew something I didn’t. PC was initially going to choose a meaty dish (typical dude), but at the last minute decided that he was going to have the same thing I was.

It. Was. Delicious. The scallops were perfectly seared, and the cream sauce didn’t make me nauseous. If I had been at home I would have licked my plate for sure. PC and I could not stop talking about it afterwards. It was that good! I made a mental note to replicate the pasta when I got back to Singapore. And two weeks since I got home, I finally have. The barely 500g (1lb ish) packet of 12 scallops cost me $22.90! But the stomach wants what the stomach wants.

I strayed from the original recipe a little bit and added a touch of Southeast Asia with the bird’s eye chilli. I want to say it was better than the one I had in Paris, but I’m afraid it might be sacrilegious. Therefore I shall only state that it was very, very good.

Leave a Reply

